Pure Noise Records and Pabst Blue Ribbon present “Dead Formats Volume 1”


originally published: 05/07/2022

Pure noise recordings and Pest Blue Ribbon have teamed up to present “Dead Formats Volume 1”, a 15-track compilation featuring the Pure Noise Records roster sharing their views on the famous punk/emo/ska songs that helped shape the scene in the years 90s and 2000s. Fans can hear Drug Church’s version of “Someday I Suppose” originally by The Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Microwave’s cover of “Santeria” by Sublime.

“Bosstones were one of the first bands to get me excited about music,” says Pat Kindlan of Drug Church. “Let’s not go overboard here, but I feel emotional thinking back to that time when my childlike mind was in the midst of discovering fashion. For me, the Bosstones were part of that formative moment where the music is just starting to make sense but is still unfamiliar enough to be exciting. And the band was the perfect gateway into the genres I’ve been working in for a long time. made this nice band that I could play for my friends at school also covered Slapshot and Minor Threat BLEW MY MIND. This band I’ve loved since I was 12 and this hardcore stuff I got into at 15 has a crossover? How? It was like I am grateful to Mighty Mighty Bosstones and hope this cover introduces young listeners to the band’s tile era.

“We had a lot of fun creating this cover,” says Microwave’s Nate Hardy on their “Santeria” cover. “Sublime holds a sacred place in our hearts. What an incredibly cool band. What an incredibly cool song. We hope you curl up with a doob and an ice cold Pabst Blue Ribbon and enjoy it.”

Four Year Strong’s “Brain Stew/Jaded”, LURK’s “Fell In Love With A Girl”, Hawthorne Heights’ “Inside Out” and Seaway’s “I’m The One” also feature on the compilation.

‘Dead Formats Volume 1’ is now available for pre-order on vinyl as well as a limited edition collaboration between Pure Noise Records and Pabst Blue Ribbon, which now includes a keychain bottle opener, can be found at: www.deadformats.net

Advertise with New Jersey Stage for $50-$100 per month, click here for more info

‘Dead Formats’ Vol 1 Track List:

1. State Champs – How old am I again

2. Four Year Strong – Brain Stew / Blasé

3. Drug Church – Someday I guess

4. Microwave – Santeria

5. Lurk – Fell in love with a girl

6. Seeyouspacecowboy – Seven years old

7. Hawthorne Heights – Upside Down

8. Spanish Love Songs – We’ve Had Enough

9. Older Brother – The Black Parade

10. Rot – Society

Advertise with New Jersey Stage for $50-$100 per month, click here for more info

11. Room – Branch Davidian

12. Seaway – I’m the One

13. I can’t swim – Radio

14. The Dirty Nothing – Filler

15. Red City Radio – Move Around

“We are delighted with this partnership. There are a lot of shared values ​​between Pure Noise and PBR – independence, courage, being kind of a DIY outsider. We love their energy, their roster of bands and artists, and are grateful that they invited us to collaborate on the idea and execution of this composition. – Nick Reely, Vice President of Marketing, PBR

About Ethel Nester

Check Also

Kevin Conroy, voice of animated Batman, dies at 66

Kevin Conroy, the prolific voice actor whose serious delivery on “Batman: The Animated Series” was …